Spiced Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe

October 26, 2010

Somewhere along the lines we stop chasing after fancy things and realize that we get the most satisfaction and comfort out of the simple pleasures of life: spending time with family, reading a good book and… eating cupcakes.

It’s safe to say that during this time of the year everyone is a bit pumpkin crazy. I went to the store the other day to pick up canned pumpkin for these cupcakes and saw a sign that said “limit 4 cans per day.” Not only that but every coffee shop you turn to you find pumpkin lattes and cappuccinos and pastries. I laughed at first but then realized that I am proudly partaking in this craziness as well because quite frankly pumpkin is darn good.

I found the recipe for these cupcakes from one of my favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats. This cupcake is the ultimate pumpkin goodness, it has the perfect blend of spices that compliment the pumpkin flavor rather than overpowering it. And the cream cheese frosting is so very rich and creamy. It’s honestly one of the best frostings I have ever made. Overall it’s a great cupcake recipe to come back to again and again. Enjoy!

This recipe makes about 24-30 cupcakes.

Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe (From Annie’s Eats)

  • 2 2/3 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves (I just used allspice)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 15 oz can of pumpkin
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs

Preheat oven to 350° and line your cupcake tray with paper liners.

Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and salt in a bowl.

In another medium sized bowl mix together the pumpkin, sugar, brown sugar and oil with an electric mixer. Add eggs one at a time and mix well after each one.  With the mixer on low add the sifted flour mixture until combined.

Fill the batter about three-quarters full in the cupcake liners.  Bake for about 18-20 minutes (until a toothpick inserted comes out clean).  Cool completely before you frost (about 10 minutes).

To make the frosting:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 5 tbsp butter (room temperature)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar

First beat together the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla until smooth this should take a few minutes. Then slowly add in the confectioners sugar until all of it is combined. Beat until the frosting is nice and smooth.

Decorate them however you’d like; I used chocolate sprinkles, walnuts, and crushed heath bar.

6 Responses to “Spiced Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe”


  1. Mmm, the sound and look of those pumpkin cupcakes sure is tasty. I know about the pumpkin fever–when I went to grab a can of pumpkin (just to have it sit pretty in my cupboard while I decide what to do with it), it was sold out. A wee bit disappointing, but it definitely gives me more time to consider what I should make–like cupcakes!

    • Mariya Says:

      Haha hopefully they will re-stock soon. Everybody seems to be making something or the other out of pumpkin, but I highly recommend cupcakes. They are yummy!


  2. Very festive and the frosting, I can just eat that forever. Love the topping of candies, sprinkle and nuts.

  3. Safoora Says:

    haha, I just wrote about cupcakes myself!!! I didn’t make pumpkin ones, I made spiced ones, but I bet they would be amazing with a bit of pumpkin in them.

    My favorite pumpkin food is pumpkin loaf from Starbucks…it’s so good and I’m sure quite easy to make….it’s just hard to find canned pumpkin here and I’m too lazy to work with a real one!!


Leave a Reply

