A Vegetarian Style Chili

October 6, 2010

Do you ever wonder how many things we make a mental note of throughout our lives? And we don’t exactly get back to half of those things due to our own laziness or maybe it’s just “memory overload.”

I tend to make notes of recipes that I want to make. Half of them I remember, half of that half I remember I’m too lazy to partake in the extensive labor to make the dish, and the rest of the half I manage to make happily :-)

For some reason I have wanted to make chili for the longest time. I figure its because of my love for soup-ish things.

After eating a bowl of the chili I made my brother says “this is a great vegetable stew”…. I guess what I made isn’t technically ‘chili’ because it’s vegetarian. But, I got the recipe from Simply Recipes and if they call it chili then I am calling it chili too.

The recipe is called spicy vegetarian chili and when I saw the picture of it I knew that it would be really good (seriously go look at it then come back you’ll see what I’m talking about.) The ingredients in this dish are very different from a typical chili making it healthier and so much more colorful. It has so many great vegetables in it; its a perfect “end of summer” kind of dish.

Like the recipe says, the level of spicy-ness is up to you. I put 1 jalepeno pepper and it ended up to be pretty darn spicy so I would recommend you put half of one. And start out with a teaspoon of chili powder not a tablespoon.

Vegetarian Chili (From Simply Recipes)

Yield: 8-10 servings

  • 2 medium eggplants cut into cubes
  • olive oil
  • 2 medium onions chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • 2 medium zucchini chopped
  • 2 red bell peppers, diced
  • 1-2 jalaepno peppers seeded and diced (start out with half of 1)
  • a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 1-2 Tbsp chili powder (start out with a teaspoon)
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • a 15 oz can of white beans (drained)
  • a 15 oz can of kidney beans (drained)
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • a teaspoon of sugar
  • handful of chopped cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

First thing you need to do is roast the eggplants by putting them on a baking sheet, drizzling a few tablespoons of olive oil on them, covering it with foil and putting them in a 350° preheated oven for 30 minutes.

Next put a large soup pot on the stove and heat a few tablespoons of olive oil. Cook the onions in the olive oil for about 10 minutes. Add garlic and cook for a minute then add the bell peppers, zucchini, and jalapeno peppers. Cook for about 5 minutes stirring every now and then.

Next, add the tomatoes, oregano, cumin, fennel seeds, and chili powder. Mix well. Add in the eggplant and stir carefully so you don’t mush them up, simmer for about 20 minutes with the lid on.

Finally, add in the white and kidney beans, lemon zest, lemon juice, sugar, cilantro, salt, pepper. Mix and simmer for 5 more minutes. Done! :-)

2 Responses to “A Vegetarian Style Chili”

  1. Safoora Says:

    LOVE chili!! I’ve never tried a vegetarian chili before, but am looking forward to making this.

  2. Mariya Says:

    yeah you should try it out its really good, just beware of the spices. haha.


Leave a Reply

