Hungarian Mushroom Soup

September 8, 2010

Ohmygoodness it’s almost Fall

Has Summer really gone by that quickly? College starting back up and Labor Day are my annual reminders that fall is just around the corner. It must have reached about 5o degrees last week after being in the 90’s for nearly the whole Summer. And regardless of how cold it was I was more excited than anything because I realized I get to bust out all of my cold weather recipes… in other words: soup!

Me and my dad are particularly fond of soups in our family. For us, it’s the ultimate comfort food. He actually makes this amazing french onion soup that I will probably post up here one of these days. But anyway, when I found the recipe for this hungarian mushroom soup I remember thinking how much he’s going to like it, turns out he loves it.

I have so many soup recipes to try out but I had all the ingredients to make this one so I thought I would go for it. I made it last Sunday for dinner and my family absolutely loved it including me, it’s definitely something I am going to make again (and again and again.)

The unique ingredients are what make this soup so good: dill, paprika, soy sauce and lemon juice meld so well together creating an interesting twist on a familiar taste. If you are a fan of cream of mushroom soup then you will adore this recipe. If you are not too excited about fall coming then just remember we still have a little bit of summer left :)

Hungarian Mushroom Soup (From Allrecipes)

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used olive oil)
  • 2 cups chopped onions
  • 1 pound fresh mushrooms, sliced (I used regular white ones )
  • 2 teaspoons dried dill weed (or fresh dill)
  • 1 tablespoon paprika (key ingredient)
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup milk (I used skim milk)
  • 3 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • handful of chopped parsley (or cilantro)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (extra for garnish)

Heat the butter/oil in a large pot over medium heat. Throw the onions in and saute for 5-10 minutes. Add the mushrooms and saute for 5 more minutes. Stir in the dill, paprika, soy sauce and chicken broth. Lower the heat and simmer for 15 minutes with lid on.

In a separate bowl mix the milk and flour together. Pour this mixture into the soup and stir well. Cover and simmer for 15 more minutes stirring occasionally.

Finally stir in the salt, ground black pepper, lemon juice, parsley and sour cream. Mix together and allow to heat through over low heat, about 3 to 5 minutes. Do not boil. Serve immediately.

2 Responses to “Hungarian Mushroom Soup”

  1. Safoora Says:

    Looks delish! I’m obsessed with mushrooms, so can’t wait to try this soup out. One thing that I usually do is use half butter/half olive oil. That way, you still get the butter flavor, but it’s a bit healthier. I think that flavor comes through very nicely in soups. :)

  2. Mariya Says:

    Thanks Safoora! I know what you mean, everything is better with butter :-) Definitely try this soup I think you guys will really like it!


Leave a Reply

