White Chocolate, Cranberry, Walnut, Oat Cookies.

August 10, 2010

Thats quite a long title. But seriously these cookies were a complete experiment and ended up being really good. People were asking me for the recipe…so I thought it would be a good idea to blog it.

I was in the experimenting mood the other day and thought it would be interesting to see what would happen if I put all of these ingredients in one cookie…I was amazed (and relieved) when they turned out so well.

Whenever I want to experiment I just take a recipe I already know and substitute a few ingredients to make it a little bit different depending on what I’m going for. So, that’s basically what I did with this cookie. I used a chocolate chip cookie recipe that I have been using for years (from my ancient Betty Crocker’s Cookbook) and replaced the chocolate chips with: white chocolate chips, dried cranberries, walnuts, and some rolled oats. I was going for something chocolatey, sweet, tangy, and crunchy…and thats exactly what I got. These ingredients couldn’t be more perfect for each other. If you’re looking for a new cookie recipe that will be decadent and yummy here it is. I mean c’mon …just look at them.

White Chocolate, Cranberry, Walnut, Oat Cookies                                                      (with help from Betty Crocker):

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) of butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1 cup of walnuts
  • 1 cup of white chocolate chips

Yield: About 3 dozen cookies (depending on how big you make them.)

Cream the butter and sugar together until well blended. Beat in the eggs and the vanilla extract. Mix in the flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix in the oats, cranberries, nuts, and white chocolate.

Drop cookie dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet using a tablespoon. Be sure to leave 2 inches in between each cookie.

Bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for at least 5 minutes.

4 Responses to “White Chocolate, Cranberry, Walnut, Oat Cookies.”

  1. Safoora Says:

    Those look so yummy!

  2. Mariya Says:

    note: these may reappear in December :)

  3. Hafsa Says:

    Yum Yum Yummy! :)


Leave a Reply

