French Apple Tart

August 2, 2010

a word on pastries

So I used to watch this show called Pushing Daisies (only lasted 2 seasons don’t feel bad if you’ve never heard of it). Anyway, the main character Ned was a pie maker. He would make these mouth watering pies that made me want to make a pie too. So I did. And it looked fine…and the filling tasted just fine…but the pastry was not so fine.

I hope I’m not alone in the fact that whenever I try to make pie pastry something goes wrong with the taste and texture. It has made me hate vegetable shortening, and it has made me love buying pies from Perkins (I’m a sucker for strawberry).

However, every culinary disaster is saved sooner or later. And for me, that is usually done with the help of Ina Garten. This pastry recipe for her french apple tart is so easy and turned out so good on the first try! It’s really light and buttery and you can use it as a base for any fruit tart, not just apples. But, the combination of green apples and apricot jelly really taste great together so I’d say stick with it.

A simple dessert…worth a try…the most difficult part is probably peeling and coring the apples. Here is the recipe.

By the way, the recipe says to mix the apricot jelly with calvados. I don’t know what the heck calvados is, and I didn’t bother to look it up. I just used water with it and it worked out just fine.

4 Responses to “French Apple Tart”

  1. Safoora Says:

    The trick to amazing pastry is using cold butter.
    Cube up the amount of butter, then put in the fridge. When mixing the butter with the dry ingredients, use your fingertips (as it will get less melt-y). Once you’ve done it a once or twice, you’ll get the hang of it and it’ll be easy as pie ;)

    xx

  2. Mariya Says:

    no pun intended haha, i’ll make sure to do that though next time I make a pie.

  3. Talha Says:

    Great post once again! Remember how hard it was to get the pie top to fit the actual pie. We kept trying to kneed it thinner and thinner, without trying to break it.

  4. Mariya Says:

    Yeah what we were doing was so opposite, the more you work it the further the butter melts haha


Leave a Reply

